a journal of our edible education

A Pickle’s Personal Narrative

Alex with Pickles

This post is written by fourth grader, writer and gardener, Alex F..

Dark, tight and very very old. That’s the way my package had been for the last week, until finally the top of the bag ripped open!  All of us cucumber seeds spilled out onto the desktop.

The next day I woke up to a blast of sunlight!  I was in the hands of a fourth grader named Alex.  I watched as my friends were poured into round pots filled with rich, black and fluffy soil then were covered up!  Then it was my turn.  I was dropped and I landed in the rich, black, fluffy soil and saw the last ray of sunlight as I was covered up.

One week later I pushed my way through the soil until I got to where the light passed through the dirt and finally I was in the sunlight again.  I stood there for days and I waited and waited.  I waited so long that when I gathered my thoughts I was taller than my friends!  But I needed a new place to live.  My roots were too crowded.  Then I noticed the fourth graders building a trellis out of bamboo.  I was so excited!

When I awoke the next morning I looked around me.  I was right under the trellis.  The soil felt better.  I was so happy.  When I measured myself again I was taller than Alex and full of cucumbers just waiting to be picked!  When my cucumbers were picked, they were brought to the science lab where they were carefully chopped and placed in jars.  Salt, vinegar and sugar were poured over me.  Onions and sweet peppers were added to the mixture.  Then I waited.  When it was time the lid was unscrewed and out came pickles that would soon be eaten by the fourth graders and that’s how my life cycle went from seed to pickle.

11 responses

  1. tcinqo

    This is so great! Alex is a very impressive writer, and his story of a pickle’s life is delightful!

    January 8, 2013 at 8:25 am

    • Alex

      Thank you for the encouragement I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      January 17, 2013 at 8:17 pm

  2. Ms. A.

    This is a great walk about the life of a seed to a pickle… might I add… those pickles were DELICIOUS!!!! 😉

    January 8, 2013 at 8:30 am

  3. How incredibly clever. Bravo, Alex!

    January 8, 2013 at 9:37 am

    • Alex

      Thank you, I’m trying to be an author just like you.

      January 17, 2013 at 8:19 pm

  4. judy bingham

    What a great story. From seed to pickles. The seed’s life story. Told by a talented writer. I love the updates about your garden, there at OJA. You’re making memories, you and your students together, making memories, lifetime ones. I’m in San Diego following your garden’s story. It’s always great to read about and I love the photos too. Seeds, soil, sunshine and water. Miracles happen. Happy 2013.

    January 8, 2013 at 5:55 pm

    • Thanks so much for “visiting” us. Happy New Year to you too.

      January 8, 2013 at 7:01 pm

  5. Janice Banks

    Excellent write-up, Alex. I’m so proud of you! Not only do you know how to create videos and build robots but now you know how to pickle stuff! Keep up the learning! Go OJA!!

    January 10, 2013 at 4:59 pm

    • Alex

      Thank you Auntie Janice. The quality teachers at OJA help me learn a lot!

      January 17, 2013 at 8:28 pm

  6. Bobby Jackson

    Alex,

    This is story is well done. Please keep writing and finding new ways to make gardening come to life. You are a great nephew. Uncle Bobby

    January 14, 2013 at 4:10 pm

    • Alex

      Thanks for the encouragement and support Uncle Bobby.

      January 17, 2013 at 8:15 pm

Leave a Reply

